Skip to content
Rambleproof

Compare

Wispr Flow vs Superwhisper vs Rambleproof

Three ways to dictate on a Mac: one that sends your voice to a server, one that gives you a workbench of local models, and one that picks the settings for you and keeps the audio on the machine. Here is the difference, with the numbers sourced.

By The Rambleproof team. Facts checked . We make Rambleproof, so read this as an editorial comparison with a stake in the outcome, not a neutral review.

The short version

Wispr Flow transcribes in the cloud and runs on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. If you move between a laptop and a phone all day, it is the only one of the three that follows you. It needs an account and a network.

Superwhisper is the workbench. Local models, cloud models, modes, AI instructions and activation rules, on Mac, Windows, iPhone and iPad. If you enjoy tuning a tool until it fits exactly, it gives you the most to tune.

Rambleproof is the opinionated one. Apple Silicon Macs only, local by default, no app account, and one set of defaults chosen so the first sentence works without a setup session. Cloud routes exist, are optional, and use your own API key.

Accuracy and speed

This is where most comparison posts start inventing numbers, so it is worth being precise about what can and cannot be measured.

Superwhisper and Rambleproof run speech engines that are published and independently benchmarked, so both sit in the first group below, measured on the same audio. Wispr Flow and Apple keep their engines private, so no leaderboard covers them. They appear in a second group instead, against the measurements that do exist: an academic study of Apple's speech API for one, a direct competitor's benchmark for the other. Those used different audio in different years, so they get their own axis and carry the name of whoever produced them. Where two publishers measure the same product and disagree, and for Apple they disagree by 2.5 times, both numbers are shown.

Accuracy and speed, with every number's source attached

  • Rambleproof
  • Other tools
051015%RambleproofParakeet TDT 0.6B v2Rambleproof: 6.05%6.05%RambleproofParakeet TDT 0.6B v3Rambleproof: 6.32%6.32% (4% more)SuperwhisperWhisper large-v3Superwhisper: 7.44%7.44% (23% more)SuperwhisperWhisper large-v3-turboSuperwhisper: 7.83%7.83% (29% more)Wispr Flow *engine not disclosedWispr Flow: 8.7%8.7%macOS Dictation *Apple Speech API, single words, 2022macOS Dictation: 14.0%14.0%

Over a thousand spoken words, the engine Rambleproof runs gets about 14 more of them right than the engine Superwhisper runs by default. Wispr Flow and Apple have never been put through that benchmark, so they appear below it against whatever was actually run on them.

What the marked rows mean, the sources, and the numbers as a table
  1. *Not the same test as the unmarked bars: different audio, in a different year. Wispr Flow 8.7% is published by Superwhisper, a direct competitor, and another rival puts it at 6.2%. Apple is the University of Washington's figure for single words read aloud, measured in 2022: 14% for the best-served speaker group, 24% for the other three.

Sources: Open ASR Leaderboard, English short-form. * Scott, Liang, Wassink and Levow, University of Washington (arXiv:2510.22495).

This measures the speech engine, not the whole app. Rambleproof's own end-to-end time is 1.32s median over 37 dictations (key release to cleaned text at the cursor, MacBook Air M4, macOS 26.5.1). The leaderboard average is over 8 datasets: AMI, Earnings22, GigaSpeech, LibriSpeech clean, LibriSpeech other, SPGISpeech, TED-LIUM v3, VoxPopuli.

ToolWhat was measuredAccuracyMeasured by
RambleproofParakeet TDT 0.6B v26.05%Open ASR Leaderboard, English short-form
RambleproofParakeet TDT 0.6B v36.32%Open ASR Leaderboard, English short-form
SuperwhisperWhisper large-v37.44%Open ASR Leaderboard, English short-form
SuperwhisperWhisper large-v3-turbo7.83%Open ASR Leaderboard, English short-form
Wispr Flowengine not disclosed8.7%Superwhisper, a direct competitor
macOS DictationApple Speech API, single words, 202214.0%University of Washington

What everyone else publishes, and who published it

The full set of figures the dictation industry publishes about itself, including the ones the chart above draws. Every one was produced by a company selling one of the products being scored, and none publishes a corpus you could use to check the result, which is why they are charted apart from the independent benchmark rather than beside it. Where two of them measure the same product, both are listed, disagreement included.

ToolFigureValuePublished by
Wispr FlowWord-error rate6.2%LumeVoice
A competing dictation app, ranking itself first in the same table. No corpus or method published.
SuperwhisperWord-error rate3.6%LumeVoice
Same table, same publisher. Disagrees with the independent leaderboard figure for the engine Superwhisper runs.
macOS DictationWord-error rate20.9%LumeVoice
Same table. Other dictation blogs put the same product between 7.8% and 18%, which is the spread you get when nobody shares a corpus.
Wispr FlowWord-error rate8.7%Superwhisper
A direct competitor measuring Wispr Flow. Publishes more of its method than most, but is still a contestant scoring a rival.
Wispr FlowTime to final text0.80 sEmbertype
A competing dictation app. No trial count and no method stated.
SuperwhisperTime to final text1.40 sEmbertype
Same post, same absence of method.
macOS DictationTime to final text0.30 sEmbertype
Same post. Yapper measures the same product at 760 ms, which is 2.5 times slower.
macOS DictationTime to first character760 msYapper
A competing dictation app, but the best method of the set: 100 trials per app on an M3 Pro, timed off 120 fps screen capture. It measures the first character, not the finished text.

The only number on this page we measured ourselves is Rambleproof's, and we say exactly how: 1.32 seconds median from releasing the key to cleaned text at the cursor, across 37 real dictations on a MacBook Air M4. No competitor has been put through the same test, so no competitor appears next to it.

Side by side

QuestionWispr FlowSuperwhisperRambleproof
Where speech is processedCloud transcriptionOn-device models plus optional cloud modelsLocal by default; optional bring-your-own-key cloud routes
Works offline?NoYes, with local modelsYes, with local engines
Account in the appYesLicense activationNo app account
PlatformsMac, Windows, iOS, AndroidMac, Windows, iPhone, iPadApple Silicon Mac, macOS 26
Published language scope100+ languagesVaries by selected modelEnglish benchmarked; support varies by selected engine
Free tierWeekly desktop soft and hard word capsVoice dictation and basic transcriptionUnlimited raw dictation; 20,000 AI-cleaned words a week
Monthly and annual$15 monthly; $12 monthly billed annually$8.49 monthly; $84.99 annually$9.99 monthly; $59 annually
LifetimeNot offered$249.99$149 list; $99 founding

Which one to pick

Pick Wispr Flow if you dictate on a phone as much as a laptop, or if you are on Windows. Neither of the other two can do that, and no amount of local processing makes up for the app not being on the device in your hand.

Pick Superwhisper if you want to choose your own model, write your own AI instructions and set per-app activation rules. It is the most configurable of the three, and configurability is a real feature when you have a specific workflow to fit.

Pick Rambleproof if you want your voice to stay on your Mac without reading a model comparison first, and if you want dictation that keeps working on a plane. The trade is narrower: one platform, one opinionated set of defaults.

Official sources

Related reading

Where Rambleproof fits

Unlimited raw local dictation forever, with 20,000 AI-cleaned words each week and deterministic cleanup after that. No app account is required, and every safety feature stays available on Free.